Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Best Programs in Texas since 1990
post Today, 08:21 PM
Post #41


Group: Nazgul
Posts: 22
Joined: 23-April 18
Member No.: 722,347

6th place: J.J. Pearce High School, Richardson, Richardson ISD, 215 points
National Champions- 1991
2nd place- 1992
2nd place- 1993
2nd place- 1994
3rd place- 1990
4th place- 1995
5th place- 2000
6th place- 1996
6th place- 2001
6th place- 2007
7th place- 1999
7th place- 2003
8th place- 1998
9th place- 2004
9th place- 2006
10th place- 1997
Close calls- 11th ('08), 14th ('05, '10)

Top 25s- 23
Appearances- 28

J.J. Pearce is a victim of a lack of information from the beginning of Texas decathlon. The first 8 years of TX AD had 5 Pearce state titles, a run exceeded only by Katy Taylor. If we were to include those years in they would be much higher, possibly even first (although I don't think they would quite make it). Nevertheless, the list of top 10s speak for itself- despite not having that information together, Pearce is undoubtedly one of the best programs in decathlon history, not just Texas. Their best period of history is at the beginning, when they won the 1991 state title and took 3 2nd places and a 3rd place from '90 until '94. Pearce would continue to be in the top 10 all the way until 2007 (2002 has no info on medium school other than Friendswood, but I would assume they would again be top 10). They have not returned to the top 10 since, but reached their highest point since this past year with an 11th place performance in 2018. Despite the information on their dominant run in the late 80s, it should also be noted that that Pearce has won the most national championships in state history, with their five national titles exceeded only by Granada Hills and El Camino Real. This puts them in truly rarefied air, having three more titles than any other Texas team. Truly a dominant force of early decathlon, and likely one of the vehicles that made Texas decathlon become the massively successful program it is now.


2008 Texas State team champions- Pearland
2008 Texas State individual champion varsity category

2017 Texas State Large School state champion- Dulles
2018 Texas State Large School state champion- Dulles
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:


Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th July 2018 - 10:06 PM